Advisory Board

Holly Willis

Holly Willis is a Research Professor in the School of Cinematic Arts at the University of Southern California, where she also serves as the Chair of the Division of Media Arts + Practice. She is the author of Fast Forward: The Future(s) of the Cinematic Arts and New Digital Cinema: Reinventing the Moving Image, as well the editor of The New Ecology of Things, a collection of essays about ubiquitous computing. She is also the co-founder of Filmmaker Magazine dedicated to independent film; she served as editor of RES Magazine and co-curator of RESFEST, a festival of experimental media, for several years; and she writes frequently for diverse publications about experimental film, video and new media, while also exploring experimental nonfiction and poetry. Her work has appeared in publications as diverse as Film Comment, Afterimage, ArtWeek, KCET’s Artb0und, Variety and carte blanche.


Scott Fisher

Scott Fisher is a Professor in the Media Arts + Practice Division, founding Chair of the Interactive Media Division, and Associate Dean of Research at the USC School of Cinematic Arts. He is an interaction designer whose work focuses primarily on mobile media, interactive environments and technologies of presence. He is also Director of USC’s Mobile and Environmental Media Lab.

Fisher’s media industry experience includes Atari, Paramount, and his own companies Telepresence Research and Telepresence Media, and he is well known for his pioneering work in the field of Virtual Reality at NASA. A graduate of MIT’s Architecture Machine Group (now Media Lab), he has taught at MIT, UCLA, UCSD, and Keio University in Japan. His work has been recognized internationally through numerous invited presentations, professional publications and in the popular media. In addition, he has been an Artist in Residence at MIT’s Center for Advanced Visual Studies and his stereoscopic imagery and artwork has been exhibited in the US, Japan and Europe


Midge Costin

Midge Costin is the Kay Rose Professor in the Art of Dialogue & Sound Editing. She is the first to hold this endowed chair, which was given by George Lucas in 2005 and has been Head of Sound at SCA since 2000.

For 20 years, Costin has been a feature film sound editor in Hollywood, having worked at every major studio. Costin has collaborated on the soundtracks for filmmakers such as John Waters (Crybaby), David Wolper (Imagine: John Lennon), Kenneth Branagh (Dead Again), Tony Scott (Crimson Tide) and Jerry Bruckheimer (The Rock). Two of the films, Crimson Tide and Armageddon, for which she edited effects and dialogue, received Academy Award nominations for Sound Editing.

Several of the films Costin has sound edited have received nominations for the Motion Picture Sound Editors’ Golden Reel Award. Crimson Tide won for Best Feature Film Sound Editing.

Costin worked her way up to editing sound on action adventure films at a time when very few women were cutting Fx in Hollywood (a situation which has not changed significantly).  She is a past Board member of the MPSE and is a long-standing member of the Editors Guild.

Her avocation as a surf kayaker has earned her a spot on the U.S. Surf Kayaking Team in 2005, the winner of the World Championship in Costa Rica. In 2007, the team took fifth place in Spain.